A dike? That’s not such a biggie

In the fairy tale, Hans Brinker had it easy. In his story, there was only one hole in the dike that needed to be plugged in order to save his homeland from going under. At this moment, it’s hard to know which hole to plug first so we can hold back the roiling tides and keep our homeland from going under.

This is not a story I am creating out of thin air. It is history repeating itself.
As that is the case, what lessons have we learned from history that we can use now to insure that hideous consequences do not again occur?

I can’t think of a thing.

The decision to eliminate NEA funding, including de-funding public broadcasting, got my heart racing. I think that was a good thing – as until then my heart was just numb. I think racing is preferable to numbness. Since then (only a week ago?!!) I have had undifferentiated rage. I feel like I have been bounced around - POW! take THAT! now THAT! I have landed in the one place that has never deserted me: the arts. I’ve been working on two small pieces. That’s fine as a release for me – but what good will it serve to help save us?

I think that me doing art is about as productive as was Hans Brinker ice skating off into the sunset. Then again, he had already stemmed the tide and earned his chosen reward. I have yet to achieve any remedy that would warrant me skating off into the sunset. Or anywhere else.

I am searching. I am seeking just the proper wrong for me to help right.
I have a feeling the answer does not lie at the end of a paintbrush – or on the blades of ice skates - as much as I wish it did. This is not simple, is it? Not a fairy tale at all, despite the menacing ogres.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Queen of Katwe

I had read nothing about this film before seeing it. That is my practice. I don’t like going to films, concerts, plays, whatever – with pre-set expectations or opinions. The film’s poster was certainly no draw: it is a clumsy, overdone,... Continue →