Giving credit where it’s due

LOVE movies! I make it a point to see as many of each year’s “grown up” movies as I can – the ones that are nominated for a Golden Globe and /or an Oscar. I generally do this between Thanksgiving and New Year’s as that’s when all the last minute contenders seem to be released. Each year, I eagerly run that marathon of movie going.

I am a fan of credits: I wait to see them as I am interested in who designed the sets or costumes, what music was played, who WAS that actress who had that small but pivotal role, who is being thanked for their participation, and so forth. Those scrolling moments of film making are often not seen by the majority of the audience as they have already left the theater. But unless my meter is about to run out – I stay.

My most favorite moments in all the films that I have seen this year – most of which were worthwhile – occurred during the credits of two movies. The two movies also happened to be among my favorites: “Queen of Katwe” and “Lion.” They were both heart warming, beautifully made with exquisite visuals, and ultimately uplifting stories that turned tragedy into life affirmation. I’m a sucker for a happy ending, particularly when the film is based on a true story, as both of these were.

The movies ended high, but the credits took them even higher. In “Katwe”, the credits rolled as the actual person being depicted stood next to the actor who portrayed that person in the film. Many of them were children. Seeing the living person side by side with the actor grabbed my heart: they were all portrayed fully on screen, and here they were – alive! Having fun in front of a camera! They did indeed survive! And look how well they are! Many tissues saw me through that.

Then came “Lion”. I had seen the real life main character on the Today show, so I already knew that he was alive and well. But while the credits rolled, we saw what had actually happened as had been depicted in the concluding moments of the film: documentary footage of those moments. Again, seeing the living subjects of the film improved the already remarkable manufactured footage.

This device has been used before, of course, but somehow, in this year of bullying and bravado, seeing these real-life codas depicting moments of tenderness and survival filled me with hope for all mankind. I need to believe. I am grateful to these two films for fulfilling that need. When I did leave the theater, the light of the lobby reflected my soaring heart, proving that movies as therapy can be remarkably effective if one is just willing to stay until the very very end.

I am grateful to the filmmakers for including this uplifting footage. I will try to hold on to the good feelings elicited from me. If I CAN retain those feelings over the coming year, “Happy New Year” may turn out to be more than a platitude. Today is the first day of January, 2017. I intend to stay until the very very end of the coming year. In order for me to survive, I am hopeful that the light in the lobby will reflect my once again soaring heart at this same time next year. I need to believe.

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

A dike? That’s not such a biggie

In the fairy tale, Hans Brinker had it easy. In his story, there was only one hole in the dike that needed to be plugged in order to save his homeland from going under. At this moment, it’s hard to know which hole to plug first so we can... Continue →