The sound of not silence

It has been said that Paul Simon is a genius. I’m willing to go with that, because he (and Garfunkel) are among my all time favorite musical artists, and if he is a genius, wouldn’t that reflect well on my musical tastes??!!!

I have seen Simon and Garfunkel perform twice, once in Central Park and once in Madison Square Garden at a fund-raising event called Together Again For McGovern. Performers who had “broken up” got back together again in support of their candidate: Paul and Arty, Mike Nicholas and Elaine May, The Kingston Trio, Peter, Paul & Mary. It was a fantastic evening of reunion and harmony.

Subsequently, I have seen Paul Simon perform solo twice, most recently at Constitution Hall here in the District.

One of my supreme Simon & Garfunkel moments occurred in a North Sea Flemish town in Belgium, Knokke. My then-husband, Burt, and I stayed at the Hotel Shakespeare, a little pension type place across the street from the beach. One evening we went to a nightclub, which was not the sort of thing Burt was prone to enjoy. But it was vacation, and he was willing. We got drinks and stood around observing. The music was recorded, which was unusual, at this was pre-DJ times and most clubs had live music. The layout of the club was that the tables were outside a circular dance floor, which was rimmed with an 18” high white stucco “wall” dividing the dancing from the sitting areas. We sat.

An adorable young blond women with a shaggy Mia Farrow haircut jumped up onto the dividing wall and danced. The tune she was dancing to was “Cecilia” by Simon & Garfunkel. I watched her intently and with delight. She was completely happy in her dance. She wore a white summer dress. Her movements weren’t particularly spectacular, seductive or expert. But they were light and joy-filled. I couldn’t take my eyes off her, and forever after, when I heard that song, I saw that young woman. A very pleasant memory.

In my crossword puzzle today, a clue was “Patron saint of music”. I had no idea. I tried to make the “Down” clues take me to that “Across” answer, but I couldn’t get there. So….. I Googled it. The answer is: St. Cecilia!!! Hence, I have been led to write this inquiry: was Paul Simon in the know? Is his rhythmic, thumping, whistle-accompanied tune a paean to the patron saint of music???!! “I’m down on my knees. I’m begging you please to come home. Come on home.” Was Paul asking St. Cecilia for inspiration? Was he praying for guidance????!!! Was what I had thought to be a love-sick song actually an entreaty to a good god?

Crossword puzzle now complete, I have gained a deeper appreciation for and understanding of the genius of Paul Simon. And even if it turns out to be a song about adolescent fantasy, or anything else mundane, I would bet money on the fact that Paul Simon knows and has long known who is the patron saint of music. Which takes me down on MY knees: I love being wowed. I become reverent and humble. So thank you, Paul, for keeping me in my place of observer and worshipper of all things made of beauty and talent. “Jubilation! She loves me again. I fall on the floor and I’m laughing.”
Whoa oh oh oh ho, oh oh oh ho, oh ho ho ho ho, ohhh…. X 5.

 
9
Kudos
 
9
Kudos

Now read this

It’s not my problem: an experiment in fantasizing

Let’s pretend, shall we? Let’s just say for one moment, if you will indulge me, that he’s telling the truth. Let’s give him something he would never give anyone: the benefit of the doubt. OK – if we can agree to those (difficult to... Continue →