Queen of Katwe

I had read nothing about this film before seeing it. That is my practice. I don’t like going to films, concerts, plays, whatever – with pre-set expectations or opinions. The film’s poster was certainly no draw: it is a clumsy, overdone, nearly monochromatic visual. And the very fact that it is a Disney film would certainly not draw me in.

What drew me in was the cast that featured Lupita Nyong’o and David Oyelowo. These actors, both of whom were lauded for their performances in “Twelve Years a Slave”, had me at…(to paraphrase the quote from Jerry McQuire), “…jambo.” (Sorry. Very corny, though appropriately colloquial Swahili.)

I went with my friend and primary movie partner, Jan. As we generally go to the movies during the day, and the earliest show at that, we often find ourselves alone in the theater. We’ve become accustomed to “private showings.” We sit high in the back. In the center. The new seats in AMC theaters – recliners of the Barca-lounge type favored by Joey Tribiani and Chandler Bing – suit us just fine. We semi-recline, elbow to elbow, and comment at will. This time there was one other person there, seated in the first row far below us. But we kept our voices low so as not to disturb her. We reclined. Sipped our water. And watched.

After seeing it, I checked out some of the reviews. They were raves, which is as it should be. This story, the way in which it was told – cleared-eyed, with equal parts of heart – was thorough, elegant and uplifting. The acting was flawless. I know, because I forgot they were actors and totally lost sight of the fact that the two previously mentioned actors had been together in “Twelve Years” yet I never once thought of THOSE characters. I was totally into the story. Two tissues and a lot of cheering.

Yet in the reviews I read after seeing it, only Variety gave any mention of the visuals by citing cinematographer Sean Bobbit. No mention of the art director or production designer. Hey, I’m a story teller, so yes, by all means, the movie would be nothing without the story. But for me, there were gasps from frame to frame: every single frame saturated me in its color and composition. Frame after frame literally took my breath away and gave me tingles. Jan, too.

After a while I broke away from the story long enough to take out my camera. The poor little “point and shoot” had a hard time taking in enough light in the blackened theater to register each image digitally. It moved slowly. So I was generally a few frames off the shot I actually wanted. And the color was off: my camera could not register the subtle colors I was seeing on the screen with accuracy. It did its best, but at first glance, I thought my pictures had failed.

When I got home and off-loaded them, throwing them into PhotoShop to trim away the black seats and red Exit signs that appeared in each frame, I melted. These pictures were gorgeous. The art direction, costuming, lighting, color combinations, integration of background and foreground, the texture and composition of each frame and the choice of each camera angle were pure art. Each frame was a hang-worthy picture in and of itself.

As my camera was slow to register each image, there was usually movement in my images. The slow shutter speed of the camera usually rendered my shots in “soft focus”. These blurs turned out to be a stroke of great good luck. They allowed the colors and compositions et al to shine through without focusing on the images per se, which would have kept me in the story. Because of this, I was able to see each of the over 300 shots I took in the dark in light of their own individual beauty. Like many sweet, excruciating pieces of deliciousness, this collection of images is almost too much for me to take in at once.

Whomever still thinks of Africa as “the Dark Continent” will be disillusioned. The images that appear on the screen tell this particular story in equal parts to the script: both are illuminated and illuminating. As if lit from within.
An aura exists.

Yes, I am raving, but please don’t be swayed one way or another. Please go see the movie and just allow it to be what it is: a visual, audio and literary cinematic fete accompli.

As for you, Disney: even though I am miles and miles from both your “Land” and your “World”, I am transported, which is your claim to fame. Thank you for making that theater in Georgetown another of the happiest places on earth. Kudos.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Manna

Yesterday, one of my colleagues from the Columbia Pike Artist Studios joined me as we walked to the Thai grocery store downstairs from CPAS to get some lunch. On our way, we told one another the unusual dreams we had each had the night... Continue →